Tonight

(25 May 2010)

Tonight, we’ll walk together, side by side in cobblestone streets. I had hoped, no, longed for this for some time. And somehow I fear that those moments would be fleeting, for time is always unkind to me and the next time this would happen would be close to never.

Tonight, in each stride I’ll soak myself in the joy of closely seeing you – soft black eyes twinkling with every shy smile, each shy smile disarming and uplifting…

Tonight, I’ll see you in every light, in all hues and in all shades. There probably won’t be any music. But your laughter is always music to me… I am hoping for a dance, but that would be too much to ask… And I am too afraid to try…

Tonight, I wish to hold your hand, to lay your head on my shoulder, to lovingly rest my hands on your shoulder… But then, I know I couldn’t be that close…

Tonight, I will feel contented and I will enjoy your nearness. There will be no dance, no holding of hands, but I am sure there will be your eyes, your smile and your laughter. And there will be me, always in the shadows, always in the dark, desperately wishing and always hoping.

Tonight, these fleeting moments with you will vivify me and will wash this dryness in me. And I have enough patience to wait for the next opportune time, even if that would be close to never.

Tonight, just for tonight I will be near you…

© COOLWATERWORKS, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to COOLWATERWORKS and A Series of Duration with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

About coolwaterworks

Traveler. Writer. Photographer. View all posts by coolwaterworks

2 responses to “Tonight

Leave a Reply

